The Australian Tourism Awards are the industry’s national standard of excellence. Finalists are chosen from each state’s Gold winners and are then put to our panel of expert industry judges, where a winner of the nation is then crowned. The winners are all shapes and sizes, serious and fun, and come from all walks of Australian life.

A wide and diverse range of tourism businesses are encouraged to enter – over 200 entrants from across the country will then reach the prestigious status of becoming a national finalist at the Australian Tourism Awards.

2023 is the first year to see ‘Excellence in Accessible Tourism’ as a National category and we are thrilled to celebrate and reward those businesses catering to the accessible market.

Australia’s winners will be announced at the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards Ceremony in front of an audience of industry leaders and peers. The prestigious Hall of Fame trophy is awarded to an entrant who has won the same category for three consecutive years.

The awards were first established by the Federal Government in 1985 to recognise and promote excellence in tourism from the cities to the Outback. The Australian Tourism Awards are now owned and managed by Australian Tourism Awards Inc, on behalf of the tourism industry.

How to enter

To enter the Australian Tourism Awards:

1. Enter your state’s awards by writing a report for 1 or more categories
2. Win GOLD in a category
3. You will automatically be entered into the national awards for the category you won in

From there, your report will be judged against other States in the same category. Please see below for each state/territory award program.


Canberra Region Tourism Awards


South Australian Tourism Awards


NSW Tourism Awards


Tasmanian Tourism Awards


Northern Territory Tourism Awards


Victorian Tourism Awards


Queensland Tourism Awards


Western Australian Tourism Awards

Judging Process

We pride ourselves on the integrity of the Australian Tourism Awards judging process.

The judging panel comprises a cross section of tourism industry experts, selected for their knowledge and experience. The panel is made up of 32 judges – 4 from each of the states and territories and is overseen by our Chair of Judges.

A Chair of Judges is selected for a 3 year term, after meeting rigorous criteria – based on experience and leadership qualities.

Our auditors, Ernst and Young provide professional and qualified services and act in an independent capacity to review judging decisions.

Australian Tourism Awards

ABN 31 095 626 976
Suite 207/208, 530 Little Collins Street, Melbourne VIC 3000

(03) 9046 2339

Contact Us

8 + 10 =